Displaying Fictitious License Plates
Displaying Fictitious License Plates is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense punishable by 10 days to 90 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $300 plus court costs and community service.
The statute essentially states that a person cannot display, have in their possession, or offer for sale, plates, a registration sticker, or a title that the person knows is fictitious revoked, altered, stolen, suspended or canceled.
This situation often arises when a driver purchases a new vehicle and transfers his “old plates” to his new vehicle before the new vehicle is registered. Some drivers will also display a temporary permit on the newly purchased vehicle in addition to displaying the plates from the old vehicle on the new one before registering the new vehicle at the Colorado Department of Revenue. Both situations are illegal and the penalties are severe.
Other situations where a fictitious plate charge may arise is when a driver “borrows” his friends license plates and drives down the street. Or a driver uses the current year registration sticker off of another vehicle and displays it on his own expired plates attempting to make his plates appear current and valid.
Other situations arise where a driver may alter a temporary license tag with a black marking pen to make an expired registration tag appear to be current and valid.
Displaying Fictitious Plates is a serious charge criminal traffic charge with serious consequences. If you have been charged with this offense or any other traffic offense in Colorado, call Attorney Monte Robbins today for a free case evaluation at 303-355-5148 or 1-888-384-2656.