Eluding The Police
Denver and Greeley Traffic Attorney Monte Robbins defends drivers in Colorado who have been charged with eluding or attempting to elude the police. Eluding a police officer is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense. The possible penalty for this offense is 10 days to 90 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $300, plus courts costs, surcharge fees, restitution, probation, and driver’s license suspension. Thus, the consequences are severe.
In order to secure a conviction for this offense, the prosecutor must be able to show that a driver committed a law violation and that the driver received an alert from the officer to pull over. Thereafter, the driver either sped away from the officer or turned off his lights. The statute also contains a catch-all provision to include eluding or attempting to elude by “any other manner”.
It’s important to note that the prosecutor must also show that the officer was driving a marked vehicle of the police, sheriff, or Colorado State Patrol.
Upon conviction, 12 points will be assessed against a driver’s license, which will trigger a driver’s license point suspension.
Colorado Attorney Monte Robbins has experience defending drivers who have been charged with Eluding the Police and the driver’s license consequences which follow. If you or a loved one has been charged with a traffic violation anywhere in Colorado, contact Denver and Greeley Traffic Ticket Attorney Monte Robbins for a free case evaluation at 303-355-5148, 970-301-5541, or nationwide toll-free at 1-888-384-2656.