No Auto Insurance
All owners of vehicles registered in Colorado, including low powered scooters, are required to maintain insurance on their vehicle when operated by themselves or another person in Colorado.
Additionally, anyone who operates a motor vehicle is required to have current insurance.
When requested by the police, or when an accident occurs, or during a traffic investigation, an operator or an owner of the vehicle is required to produce a copy of the insurance to the police.
Failing to maintain insurance or to produce valid insurance is a Class 1 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and is punishable by a fine of a minimum $500 or greater and imprisonment in the county jail from 10 days to 1 year. If the driver is able to provide after acquired insurance the Court may suspend half of the fine.
If a person is convicted of a 2nd or more offense in a 5 year period, the minimum mandatory fine is increased to $1000 plus any possible jail sentence. The court may still suspend one half of the fine for after acquired insurance.
At least 40 hours of community service may also be imposed for a violation of this statute.
If a police officer testifies at trial that the driver or owner didn’t have insurance when requested, this will constitute prima facie evidence of the violation. However, if the owner or driver produces a valid copy of the insurance in effect at the time of the alleged violation, then he or she cannot be convicted of this charge.
Additionally, any person convicted of no insurance in Colorado will be required to maintain proof of financial responsibility with DMV for three (3) years from the date of the conviction. If the driver does not comply with proof of financial responsibility as required by DMV within 20 days, then the their driver’s license may be suspended.
Denver Colorado Traffic Ticket Attorney Monte Robbins has handled hundreds of traffic tickets in Colorado county and municipal courts. Contact him today for a free case evaluation at 303-355-5148 or 970-301-5541.