If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, the state or municipality is alleging that you drove a motor vehicle in a way that your driving disregarded the safety of property or people. The charge applies to motor vehicles, electric bicycles, regular bicycles, and scooters. The prosecutor must be able to prove that your extremely bad driving was essentially knowingly and deliberate. Eight (8) points go against your driver’s license if you are convicted of reckless driving.
In addition to the points on your driver’s license, this offense also carries a possible penalty in county court of 10 days to 90 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $300, not to mention increased auto insurance premiums. A second conviction in county court can land you in jail for at least ten (10) days, up to six (6) months, and a fine of $50 to $1000.
Municipal court reckless driving charges typically carry a maximum penalty of one (1) year in jail and/or a $1000.00 fine.
Reckless driving is also a habitual traffic offender strike. This means that if a person is convicted of three (3) major traffic offenses (8 points and above) in a seven (7) year period, she will lose her driver’s license for five (5) years.
Police, sheriff, and state patrol officers in Colorado seem to be becoming more liberal in charging reckless driving combined with speeding tickets twenty-five (25) miles per hour or more over the posted limit on Colorado highways. Thus, a brief error in a driver’s judgment can quickly turn into a situation where a good driver is facing the loss of his/her license and significant jail time at the hands of an overzealous officer.
Attorney Monte Robbins aggressively fights reckless driving charges. If you’ve been charged with reckless driving anywhere in Colorado, contact Attorney Monte Robbins today for a free case evaluation at 303-355-5148, 970-301-5541, or 1-888-384-2656 nationwide toll-free.